1750 Enlightenment And New Beginnings

The mid-18th century was the Age of Enlightenment: an era marked by the fight against prejudice, the dawn of the natural sciences and the idea of tolerance and human rights.
In Lychen, too, the signs pointed to a new beginning, as the city had burned down in 1732 for the third time in a century and had to be rebuilt once again. At that time, around 1750, the so-called "Färberhaus" (dyer's house) was built on the site of the SOMMERFRISCHE - today our home. It stood outside the city wall and was only to become a linen dyeing factory almost 100 years later.
The initial function of the building is unknown. Presumably it was connected with the nearby mill - perhaps as a customs house? One thing is clear: the "Färberhaus" is the oldest building in Lychen after the town church of St. Johannes and the remains of the town gates (Stargarder Tor, Fürstenberg Tor, Templiner Tor) - and the only preserved half-timbered house with a cantilever.